Sign In or Create New Account

Remember me

Connect

The Story Board
Previous
Next
Sort Stories
Top Stories Most Recent
  |   Stories Main View   |   Stories I follow   |   Stories I've Shared   |   Favorite Stories   
 Title 
Title Author Description

2012 Year in Review

In preparing my year in review I struggled a little. All in all, it's been a pretty uneventful year for me personally, and the things that did happen are not necessarily things I want to remember (like my mother's passing).  So, I knew I wasn't going to do a month-by-month type page like I have in the past. I decided to concentrate on seasons - maybe there was something I could come up with for each of the seasons. I started going through my pictures and found some of the grandkids I could use for each one - first day of school, and Leyda starting band for Fall, fishing and Gavin's birthday for the Summer, strawberry picking and Easter for Spring, and Leyda's birthday for Winter.

I decided to use a little tree stamp I had and decorate the trees for each season. I had a tiny little leaf punch - don't even remember when I got it - it's one of those things you hardly ever use, but then it comes in handy when a project like this comes up! I used the punch to make summer and fall leaves.  Then I had a small flower punch I used for spring. For winter I used Liquid Pearls for snow.

I then started thinking how I could journal the events. I decided to make each tree a pocket and put a tag inside for the journaling. I had to think through that one to be sure the pockets would pull from the top for the top two pieces, and from the bottom for the bottom two pieces!

I was going to put 2012 in the middle of the trees on a 1" circle, but then when I started putting down pictures, I started having trouble with Summer - I just didn't have pictures to fill the space correctly, so I decided to use one of the laser cut 2012 pieces from Snap n Crop in the corner. Ta da! I finally had  a year in review!

And just for ha-has...this is the sketch I worked with - I always think it's fun to see what people work from - I don't always use a sketch, but I sometimes do for Mosaic pieces to be sure my counts are right - yes, I'm a messy sketcher!!  :)

 

Shared by Nancy Sanders on December 17, 2012 | Memory Date: December 17, 2012
Follow Nancy Sanders
Cheer Me On
Love it ! 7
LOL! 0
Heartwarming! 0
Yummy! 0
Great Job! 0
Wow! 0
Beautiful! 1
Thnx 4 Sharing 1
Made Me Smile 0
Click an Expression to Cheer Me On.
Story Cheered By:
Comments
Nancy, love the layout. Thanks for showing the sketch and technique for the trees. Aren't sketches supposed to be messy? Have a great 2013 :)
Posted By: Julie Oconnor  |  December 31, 2012 at 12:30 am   
I also love the trees and how you decorated them to match the seasons. A very creative idea! Thanks for helping me expand my creativity and I hope 2013 is a better year for you. Happy new year.
Posted By: Beth Glass  |  December 26, 2012 at 9:17 pm   
Nancy, I really love the tree idea--they are just the cutest things ever! I have one of those leaf punches, now I am going to utilize it like you did. When I see new ideas like yours, I always want to hit myself on the head and say "Well, Duh--why didn't I think of THAT!" I am so glad you included your sketch. I have never thought of doing that either (why do I always do everything the HARD way?). Thanks for sharing your positive thoughts. Have a wonderful Christmas with your family. And . . . don't forget to take many pictures for mosaics yet to be created . . .
Posted By: Linda Holmes  |  December 22, 2012 at 4:34 pm   
Nancy, I really love the tree idea--they are just the cutest things ever! I have one of those leaf punches, now I am going to utilize it like you did. When I see new ideas like yours, I always want to hit myself on the head and say "Well, Duh--why didn't I think of THAT!" I am so glad you included your sketch. I have never thought of doing that either (why do I always do everything the HARD way?). Thanks for sharing your positive thoughts. Have a wonderful Christmas with your family. And . . . don't forget to take many pictures for mosaics yet to be created . . .
Posted By: Linda Holmes  |  December 22, 2012 at 4:34 pm   
I love little swirley trees. That drew me into your layout. Then I looked closer and found that I like the way you positioned your tags. That set it off even better. Most of all, I found your focus on joyful things in the year poignantly positive. Thanks so much for sharing.
Posted By: Diane Cook  |  December 19, 2012 at 1:12 pm   
Great job. Thank you for sharing your idea of a year in review layout and sketch.
Posted By: Linda Leffel  |  December 17, 2012 at 11:00 pm   
wonderful layout...so many great ideas
Posted By: Sharon Richmond  |  December 17, 2012 at 9:43 pm   
I'm new to this group, but I love the trees with the leaves and the snow, pearls, it is wonderful. So many new things I would never have thought up of on my own that's for sure. This is great fun. Just hope I can somehow do something like this. Hello everyone!
Posted By: Kelly Bardis  |  December 17, 2012 at 8:39 pm   
I love the trees and the pockets with journaling too. A seasonal theme to summarize the year is a great idea!
Posted By: Tami Potter  |  December 17, 2012 at 8:31 pm   
Nancy, when your family is so important to you, it's a good bet that making this type page all about them is a good idea! Breaking it down into seasons was a great idea and the tree stamp embellished to represent each season perfect. I like that you used this center feature to hide your journaling. It let's you focus on the photos, but also included important details. Very nicely done! Thanks for all the detail shots too!
Posted By: Andrea Fisher  |  December 17, 2012 at 7:59 pm   
     

Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Contact Us © 2017 Journella LLC

Help us Grow on Delisous Find us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter